Baby BMW Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
BMW 135i M
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks, newbie here 😉 have a 2014 M135i N55 which is used as an every day and track car, first track day in it Bedford 2nd week in august.

I can see it’s been posted before but I’m still a little confused…

ill only track it on road tires Michelin pilot super sports at best. Do I need to worry about oil starvation issues? I know MMR do a baffle plate and it seems the S55 engine sump is a direct fit with the option to upgrade to the secondary oil pump option too (not that I can find any for sale) but do I need to be spending money on this upgrade works? I’m planning to overfill oil by about 1/2 liter and I’m using millers oil (5w30 nanodrive).

I’ve seen CSF do a direct bolt on upgraded oil cooler and some have suggested the oem cooler isn’t sufficient for track use and to back off at 130C (I know how to unlock the hidden oil temp) I’m not sure why high oil temperature is a problem though with regular oil changes?

other things I’ve seen as problems:

Turbo charge pipe - mtc do an aluminum upgrade, any other options out there?

Crankshaft bearings and upgraded bolts?

Any and all advice would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance.
Steve

·
Registered
53 Posts
Following with interest ;)

I am debating myself on going to the track from time to time in my car but in the back of my head I constantly have that thought of 'what if '(oil starvation) o_O

I think if you intend on tracking it often then having a baffled sump is a good idea to have that extra peace of mind. But I think once or twice a year, ensuring you have plenty of oil in the engine should do the trick.

I have read up somewhere...might have been on this forum or other, that apparently oil starvation occurs more often on the long sweeping curves / turns where revs keep climbing and oil moves to one end of the sump... I'll try and find a link later so will update when I find it.