Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Information about coding your BMW

Moderators: Rich196, babybmwadmin, marco_polo, Producethis, Lambster

Post Reply
Jamesno1
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 10:02 pm
Location: Glasgow

Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Jamesno1 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 10:34 am

As title, is it possible to retrofit the full black panel display to my f30 3 series LCI?
M135i

Ogb666
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:23 pm

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Ogb666 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 10:53 am

Yes it’s quite expensive about £800-£1000 fitted and coded depending on where you get it done

Jamesno1
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 10:02 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Jamesno1 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:27 pm

Bloody hell, that's a lot... Is the bulk of the cost in getting the actual dials?
M135i

Ogb666
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:23 pm

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Ogb666 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:09 pm

Yes dials vary from around 600 to 1000 and coding/fitting 100 to 150

Jamesno1
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 10:02 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Jamesno1 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:23 pm

I'll just need to keep my eyes open for a set coming up then. Obviously I need from a petrol car for the rev counter to be correct but will it matter if its from a 4cyl or 6cyl car? Mine is a 320i
M135i

Jamesno1
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 10:02 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Jamesno1 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:41 pm

Just had a look on eBay...think I've confused you with black panel display...I want the 6wa version so it has normal dials on top but the LCD panel along the bottom. Looking online the 6wb full LCD panel seems to be the one that's costly.

So is the 6wa panel easy enough to swap over and code in?
M135i

Ogb666
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:23 pm

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Ogb666 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 9:30 pm

The 6wa is a lot cheaper.theres a seller on ebay that sells them for 300 with the MOST cable and he also does remote coding.

Jamesno1
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 10:02 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Jamesno1 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 1:20 pm

Am I right in saying I need to buy one with lower miles than my car? Or can this be over come with coding? Also is there anyone in Glasgow area able to do this?
M135i

Ogb666
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:23 pm

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Ogb666 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:02 pm

One last thing I forgot to mention is you need satnav for the retrofit:
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 3683511891

Jamesno1
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 10:02 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Jamesno1 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:12 pm

the car has business sat nav, I thought every 3 series had sat nav as standard? Its got harmon kardon as well so it will have fibre optics.

Found this

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/6804974-01-S ... 1438.l2649

Edit: my car is a 2015 320i m sport lci with business nav, hk, high beam assist. Don't know if any of that helps... :-)
M135i

Ogb666
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:23 pm

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Ogb666 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:49 pm

It’s quite involved if you go down the diy route:
https://f20.1addicts.com/forums/attachm ... 1465929213

Jamesno1
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 10:02 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Jamesno1 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:55 pm

Yeah....f*ck that, I'll get someone who knows what to do 😂

But it does answer my question, I need to find one with lower miles...not easy, my cars only done 23k. The one I linked to says 6000 kilometers, wonder if the kilometer thing buggers that up for me?

So, just need to find a willing coder......and I'm in Scotland 😂
M135i

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5095
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: Tyne & Wear

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Wibbles » Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:34 pm

Any retrofitted Kombi needs to have the VIN & Mileage erased before it's retrofitted - if this is not done you'll get a tamper dot and the mileage will be screwed up in your car.

You can get away with just erasing the VIN if the mileage on the cluster is lower than your car.

To erase the VIN/Mileage you need special tools to be able to do this and the eprom needs to be de-soldered form the board and edited on the bench - not for the faint of heart.

i can get these virginised but it's not cheap.
BR Diagnostics & Retrofits
Apple Carplay - ONLY £89 - BabyBMW Special offer!
FULL SCREEN CARPLAY NOW AVAILABLE!
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here
BRD on Facebook

Jamesno1
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 10:02 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Jamesno1 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:48 pm

What we talking for a 6wa to get wiped?
M135i

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5095
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: Tyne & Wear

Re: Retrofitting black panel display to f30

Post by Wibbles » Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:21 pm

£250
BR Diagnostics & Retrofits
Apple Carplay - ONLY £89 - BabyBMW Special offer!
FULL SCREEN CARPLAY NOW AVAILABLE!
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here
BRD on Facebook

Post Reply

Return to “Coding/Software”